News Sport

Who won the Melbourne Cup

This year’s Melbourne Cup is almost here with the race kicking off at Flemington Racecourse. While restrictions will limit spectators to only 10,000, millions of Aussies will be watching the racing action from home. The race will have a field of 24 local and international horses racing over 3200m for a whopping $8 million. Here are other things you need to know ahead of the 2021 Melbourne Cup.

What time is the Melbourne Cup? 

  • 3pm – Victoria, New South Wales, Tasmania and ACT
  • 2pm – Queensland
  • 2:30pm – South Australia
  • 2:30pm – Northern Territory
  • 12pm – Western Australia

Who won the Melbourne Cup?

The 161st running of the race that stops the nation will start at 3pm Sydney time so stay tuned for results. Here’s how you can watch the race live or stream it online.

UPDATE: Very Elleegant, ridden by James McDonald and trained by Chris Waller, has been declared the winner of the 2021 Melbourne Cup.

How to watch the Melbourne Cup?

Kayo Sports offers a 14-day free trial to new customers, which instantly gives access to several of Australia’s sporting events, including the Melbourne Cup. After the free trial, a Basic Plan which covers over 50 sports in HD is only $25 per month, no lock in contract.

TRY DISNEY+Stream Disney+ for $13.99/mthGO TO SITE
FREE TRIALPrime Video 30- day free trialGO TO SITE
FREE TRIALFoxtel Now 10- day free trialGO TO SITE
FREE TRIALKayo Sports 7- day free trialGO TO SITE

About the author

Jena Pelino

Jena Pelino

Jena is a writer and editor who mostly covers lifestyle, technology, entertainment, and what's new on streaming TV. When she's not on the lookout for the next best binge-worthy series, she spends her free time easily amused by stretching cats and movie trivia.